Short answer: Glass Torch Technologies builds six of its bench torches as hand torches too: the Lynx and Cheetah (one stage each) and the Phantom, Mirage, Delta and Sidewinder (two stages). On 2026-10-06, GTT’s pages ran from $625 for the Lynx hand torch to $3,080 on sale ($3,850 list) for the Delta with an on/off switch. The two-stage torches come with or without that switch, which flips between the inner and outer fire from the handle, and on every one of them the switch adds $450 to the sale or introductory price. GTT rates the Phantom, Mirage, Delta and Lynx-center Sidewinder hand torches for solid borosilicate up to 2.5 inches. If you are still deciding whether you want a hand torch at all, read bench vs hand torch first; most flameworkers never need one.
A hand torch is the same head GTT puts on a bench burner, mounted on a neck you hold instead of a base you bolt down. You carry the flame to the glass: to a piece turning on a glass lathe, to a joint you are assembling, or to one spot on something too big to bring to a bench flame. That changes how you buy. Neck length, how you hang the torch between moves and whether you can switch fires one-handed matter more than they ever do on a bench.
The lineup at a glance
Prices below are as GTT’s own pages showed them on 2026-10-06. Several were marked as sale or introductory prices, so the list price sits beside them.
| GTT hand torch | Jets | Stages | GTT’s boro rating | Price on GTT’s pages |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lynx hand torch | 7 | 1 | Solid boro up to 2 in | $625 |
| Cheetah hand torch | 13 | 1 | Solid boro up to 2.5 in | $725 |
| Sidewinder hand torch, Bobcat center, no switch | 22 | 2 | Not stated | $990 introductory ($1,240 list) |
| Sidewinder hand torch, Bobcat center, with switch | 22 | 2 | Not stated | $1,440 introductory ($1,800 list) |
| Sidewinder hand torch, Lynx center, no switch | 22 | 2 | Solid boro up to 2.5 in | $1,270 introductory ($1,590 list) |
| Sidewinder hand torch, Lynx center, with switch | 22 | 2 | Solid boro up to 2.5 in | $1,720 introductory ($2,150 list) |
| Phantom hand torch, no switch | 22 | 2 | Solid boro up to 2.5 in | $1,510 sale ($1,900 list) |
| Phantom hand torch, with switch | 22 | 2 | Solid boro up to 2.5 in | $1,960 sale ($2,450 list) |
| Mirage hand torch, no switch | 40 | 2 | Solid boro up to 2.5 in | $2,030 sale ($2,550 list) |
| Mirage hand torch, with switch | 40 | 2 | Solid boro up to 2.5 in | $2,480 sale ($3,100 list) |
| Delta hand torch, no switch | 57 | 2 | Solid boro up to 2.5 in | $2,630 sale ($3,300 list) |
| Delta hand torch, with switch | 57 | 2 | Solid boro up to 2.5 in | $3,080 sale ($3,850 list) |
GTT’s hand-torch page lists soft glass, borosilicate and quartz for the two-stage torches it rates. The Lynx and Cheetah hand pages name soft glass and borosilicate and say nothing about quartz. GTT’s Bobcat-center Sidewinder hand page gives no glass types or capacity, so the table leaves those blank rather than borrow the Lynx-center figures.
Lynx and Cheetah: the single-stage pair
These two are the plainest of the line and the only ones GTT ships with a defined kit. Each comes with 4 feet of 1/8 inch custom hose and an aluminum mounting block. You choose the neck length, 6 to 18 inches or longer, measured from the valves to the head. A repositionable hook costs $35 extra.
Both run GTT’s three-valve layout: red for fuel, green for the main outer oxygen and blue for the secondary inner oxygen, the arrangement GTT builds its Triple Mix flame around. The difference is size. The Lynx hand torch has 7 jets and a pinpoint flame, and GTT rates it for solid boro up to 2 inches. The Cheetah hand torch has 13 jets, a flame GTT describes as running from pencil width up to 3/4 inch wide by 20 inches long, and a rating of 2.5 inches. The bench Cheetah carries a 3 inch rating, so GTT rates the hand version half an inch lower.
Read the instruction sheets before you plumb either one, because the hand and bench numbers differ:
- Lynx hand torch: propane at 10 psi and oxygen at 25 to 30 psi. The bench Lynx sheet asks for 5 to 8 psi propane and 15 to 25 psi oxygen.
- Cheetah hand torch: propane at 5 to 8 psi and oxygen at 20 to 25 psi, the same as its bench sheet.
Both hand sheets name propane and leave natural gas out. If you run house gas, ask GTT before you order.
The lighting notes are worth knowing too. On the Lynx, GTT has you light the red until the flame stands about 7 inches of yellow, then add green until it turns blue. For detail, it describes a red-and-blue flame from 1 inch to about 10 inches with the green off, and it suggests a flame of about 6 inches for silver fuming. On the Cheetah, you light the red to 10 to 12 inches of yellow, bring in the green until the candles sit about half an inch long, and keep the green on at all times. Both sheets warn against short, soft flames.
Phantom, Mirage, Delta and Sidewinder: the two-stage torches
Here you get a center fire and an outer fire on one handle, the same split the bench versions carry. The Phantom hand torch has 22 jets, the Mirage 40 and the Delta 57, matching their bench heads. GTT sells the Delta Elite as a bench torch; its hand version is listed simply as the Delta hand torch. The Sidewinder also has 22 jets, and you choose a Lynx or a Bobcat center fire.
Each comes with an adjustable hook hanger. On the Phantom, Mirage, Delta and Lynx-center Sidewinder, GTT lists the hook as standard. The Bobcat-center Sidewinder lists it as a $35 option. You can choose the neck length on all of them, but these pages give no lengths.
GTT’s pages for these four stop short in a few places that matter when you set one up:
- No instruction sheet specific to the two-stage hand torches turned up on GTT’s site.
- No fuel list for the hand configurations.
- No pressure settings or concentrator guidance for them.
- No list of what ships beyond the hook and, where you pay for it, the switch. Hoses and a stand don’t appear on these pages.
Ask GTT for those details when you order, and plan your regulators around their answer rather than the bench sheet.
What the switch costs, and what it does
The on/off switch sits in the handle and changes the torch between its inner and outer fire. With a bench torch you have both hands free and a foot pedal option for the outer fire. With a hand torch, one hand holds the flame and the other is usually on the work or the lathe, so changing fires without letting go is the reason the switch exists.
GTT’s pricing makes the cost easy to read. On every two-stage hand torch, the version with the switch costs exactly $450 more at the sale or introductory price. At list price, the gap is $550 on the Phantom, Mirage and Delta and $560 on both Sidewinders. GTT also offers the switch as a later upgrade, so the no-switch torch is not a dead end. GTT’s pages don’t give a price for that upgrade.
Hand or bench version of the same torch
Where GTT sells both, the hand version usually costs a little more. On 2026-10-06:
| Model | Bench torch | Hand torch, no switch |
|---|---|---|
| Lynx | $525 | $625 hand torch |
| Cheetah | $645 | $725 hand torch |
| Sidewinder, Lynx center | $1,125 | $1,270 introductory hand torch |
| Phantom | $1,425 | $1,510 sale hand torch |
| Mirage | $1,975 | $2,030 sale hand torch |
| Delta Elite | $2,575 | $2,630 sale hand torch |
The bench prices are GTT’s 4-stud or standard bench torches. The two price lists don’t buy the same things. The bench Phantom, Mirage and Delta Elite ship with hoses, screened adapters, a base, instructions and a cleaning kit. GTT names no hoses for the two-stage hand torches. Compare the whole setup before you compare the two numbers.
The bigger question is whether you need the hand version. If you turn glass on a lathe, join large sections, or spot-heat pieces too big to bring to a fixed flame, a hand torch earns its place. If you make beads, pendants or anything you hold and rotate in the flame, the bench version does the job, keeps both hands free, and gives you GTT’s full instruction sheet. Bench vs hand torch walks through that split, and best scientific glassblowing hand torch covers hand torches from other makers.
Before you order
- Lead time. GTT gives no delivery date and notes that material availability can delay torches.
- Custom color. A colored finish on a hand torch adds $125 and 2 to 3 days.
- Warranty. GTT’s servicing page states one year against factory defects. It does not cover damage from improper use, misuse or neglected maintenance.
- Flashback protection. A hand torch moves its hoses every time you move the flame, so set up the flashback protection your torch and gas supply call for and follow GTT’s instructions for your model.
- Buying used. Work through the used GTT torch checklist and ask the seller whether a two-stage torch has the switch.
Editor’s note: every price, rating and setting here comes from GTT’s own pages and instruction sheets as read on 2026-10-06. Several prices were marked sale or introductory on that date, so expect them to move. Confirm the configuration, neck length and current price with GTT before you buy.
Related guides
- GTT lineup, model by model
- Bench vs hand torch
- GTT Triple Mix technology
- Glass lathes
- Best scientific glassblowing hand torch
Sources
- GTT hand torches: https://www.glasstorchtech.com/hand-torches
- GTT Lynx hand torch: https://www.glasstorchtech.com/lynx-1
- GTT Cheetah hand torch: https://www.glasstorchtech.com/cheetah-1
- GTT Phantom hand torch: https://www.glasstorchtech.com/phantom-1
- GTT Mirage hand torch: https://www.glasstorchtech.com/mirage-1
- GTT Delta hand torch: https://www.glasstorchtech.com/delta-elite-1
- GTT Sidewinder with Lynx center fire: https://www.glasstorchtech.com/sidewinder-w-lynx-cf
- GTT Sidewinder with Bobcat center fire: https://www.glasstorchtech.com/sidewinder-w-bob-cf
- GTT Lynx hand torch instruction sheet (pressures and lighting): https://www.glasstorchtech.com/_files/ugd/0f433e_7b7e5c3524da45928a3e00a027c78681.pdf
- GTT Cheetah hand torch instruction sheet (pressures and lighting): https://www.glasstorchtech.com/_files/ugd/0f433e_a8a273ebeea54f6895ac1f1bd8ad53d0.pdf
- GTT servicing and warranty: https://www.glasstorchtech.com/servicing
- GTT custom colors (hand torch finish charge): https://www.glasstorchtech.com/custom-colors